Free Mexico Travel Guide and Travel Information

Heroic cities of Mexico

Mexican “heroic cities” is a term used for Mexican cities that were recognized for their bravery and resistance against foreign invaders during the Mexican War of Independence and the French Intervention in Mexico.

Back, in 2006, a commission was created to collect information on the 35 Mexican cities considered heroic. Today, the number of Mexican cities and towns with the word “Heroic” in their names has grown to a total of 45.

These cities are considered symbols of Mexican patriotism. The title “Heroica” is granted to those cities that held an important battle of Mexico in wars for Mexican sovereignty or that marked an important era in history.

Wars that are considered important in Mexican history and grant this title:

  • Mexican War of Independence (1810–1821)
  • First French Intervention (1838–1839)
  • Mexican – American War (1846–1848)
  • Caste War of Yucatán (1847–1901)
  • Second French Intervention (1861–1867)
  • Mexican Revolution (1910–1920)
  • other small battles.

The battle needs to represent a big influence on the Mexican side of the war.

A city can receive this name more than once. For example, the title “Heroic” was awarded to Puebla de Zaragoza after the battle of “May 5” against French troops, considered at that time the strongest army in the world.

The city of Veracruz was granted this title 4 times after the defeat of Spanish troops in 1825, the bombing of French troops in 1838, the bombing of American troops in 1847, and the defense against US troops in 1914.

The title of “Heroica” is granted by the Mexican President.

List of heroic cities of Mexico

Heroic cities in Veracruz state:

  • Alvarado
  • Córdoba
  • Cosamalopapan
  • Coscomatepec
  • Cosoleacaque
  • Temapache
  • Tlapacoyan
  • Veracruz

Heroic cities in Sonora state:

  • Caborca
  • Cananea
  • Guaymas
  • Nogales
  • Ures

Heroic cities in Oaxaca state:

  • Taniche (?)
  • Ejutla de Crespo
  • Huajapan de León
  • Juchitán
  • Tlaxiaco

Heroic cities in Coahuila state:

  • Candela
  • Paredón
  • Torreón

Heroic cities in Zacatecas state:

  • Puente de Calderón (?)
  • Jalpa (?)
  • Nochistan
  • Juchipila
  • Zacatecas

Heroic cities in Tamaulipas state:

  • Matamoros
  • Tampico
  • Camargo (?)

Heroic cities in Mexico state:

  • Jocotitlán
  • Tenango del Valle

Heroic cities in Michoacan state:

  • Tacámbaro
  • Zitácuaro

Heroic cities in Puebla state:

  • Atlixco
  • Puebla
  • Tetela de Ocampo (?)

Heroic cities in Tabasco state:

  • Cárdenas
  • Teapa

Heroic cities in Sinaloa state:

  • Concordia
  • Culiacan (?)

Heroic cities in Tlaxcala state:

  • Huamantla
  • Calpulalpan (?)

Heroic cities in Chihuahua state:

  • Ciudad Juárez

Heroic cities in Baja California state:

  • Tijuana

Heroic cities in Baja California Sur state:

  • Mulegé

Heroic cities in Campeche state:

  • Campeche
  • Champotón (?)

Heroic cities in Chiapas state:

  • Chiapa de Corzo

Heroic cities in Hidalgo state:

  • Huichapan

Heroic cities in Morelos state:

  • Cuautla

Heroic cities in Yucatan state:

  • Valladolid
Use these tags to read more related posts and reviews:
Let us know if this article was useful for you